Immigration,  Travel

Where Can A Papua New Guinea Passport Take You Without The Hassles Of A Visa

 108 total views,  2 views today

In an earlier article published on this site, a report by Henneley and Partners revealed that Papua New Guinea was ranked 62 out of 195 countries where the passport enabled visa-free travel.   Japan topped the list while Australia scraped in at 9.


In that ranking, PNG had a score of 83 which means that PNG Passport holders can enter 83 countries visa-free or at the very least visa on arrival.


We decided to find out those countries enabling visa free or visa on arrival facilities and you can see the list of countries below.


As a side note, Air Niugini’s limited travel destinations and routes means there is a more than a likely chance that you may transit in a country that requires a visa.  Whatever the case, it is important to check with the relevant travel agents and more importantly the embassies.


Country Visa requirement Allowed stay Notes (excluding departure fees)
 Antigua and Barbuda Visa not required[7] 1 month
 Armenia eVisa / Visa on arrival[9] 120 days
 Bahamas Visa not required[15] 3 months
 Bangladesh Visa not required[17]
 Benin eVisa / Visa on arrival[22][23] 30 days / 8 days ·         Must have an international vaccination certificate.
 Bolivia Visa on arrival[25] 90 days
 Botswana Visa not required[27] 3 months
 Cambodia eVisa / Visa on arrival[33]
 Canada Visa not required[35] 6 months ·         eTA required if arriving by air.[36]
 Cape Verde Visa on arrival[37]
 Colombia Visa not required[42] 180 days ·         90 days – extendable up to 180-days stay within a one year period
 Comoros Visa on arrival[43]
 Djibouti eVisa[53] 31 days
 Dominica Visa not required[54] 6 months
 Dominican Republic Visa not required[55] 30 days
 Ecuador Visa not required[56] 90 days
 Egypt Visa on arrival[57] ·         Conditions apply.
 Eswatini Visa not required[62] 30 days
 Ethiopia eVisa[63] up to 90 days ·         eVisa holders must arrive via Addis Ababa Bole International Airport
 Fiji Visa not required[64] 4 months
 Gambia Visa not required[68] 90 days
 Georgia eVisa[69] 90 days
 Grenada Visa not required[73] 3 months
 Guinea-Bissau eVisa / Visa on arrival[76] 90 days
 Haiti Visa not required[78] 90 days
 India e-Visa[82] 60 days ·         e-Visa holders must arrive via 26 designated airports[Note 1] or 3 designated seaports.[Note 2][83]

·         An Indian e-Tourist Visa can only be obtained twice in one calendar year.

 Indonesia Visa not required[84] 30 days
 Iran Visa on arrival[85] 15 days
 Israel Visa not required[88] 90 days ·         90 days within any 6 month period
 Jamaica Visa not required[90]
 Jordan Visa on arrival[92] 3 months
 Kenya Visa not required[94] 3 months
 Kyrgyzstan eVisa[99]
 Laos eVisa / Visa on arrival[100] 30 days ·         Visa on arrival is available at international airports LuangphabangPakseSavannakhet and Vientiane, and at 4 land borders Friendship Bridge,[Note 3] and at 13 border crossings[Note 4] as well as Tanalaeng train station in Vientiane, which connects to the train station in Nongkai, Thailand.[101] Visa on arrival facility will be gradually phased out at various border crossings starting January 2020.[102]

·         eVisa may be used to enter Laos through the following entry points — Wattay International Airport and the First Thai–Lao Friendship Bridge

·         Entry points Lalai, Lantui, Meuang mom, Pakxan, and Phoudou are open only to visa holders.

·         Visa on arrival is extendable up to 60 days.

 Lesotho Visa not required[105] 90 days
 Madagascar eVisa / Visa on arrival[111] 90 days
 Malaysia Visa not required[113] 30 days
 Maldives Visa on arrival[114] 30 days
 Marshall Islands Visa on arrival[117]
 Mauritania Visa on arrival[118] ·         Available at Nouakchott–Oumtounsy International Airport.
 Mauritius Visa not required[119] 90 days
 Micronesia Visa not required[121] 30 days
 Mozambique Visa on arrival[127] 30 days
 Myanmar eVisa[128] 28 days
 Nauru Visa on arrival[130]
   Nepal Visa on arrival[131] 90 days
 Nicaragua Visa on arrival[135] 90 days
 Pakistan Online Visa[141] ·         Online Visa eligible.[142]
 Palau Visa on arrival[143] 30 days
 Panama Visa not required[144] 180 days
 Peru Visa not required[146] 183 days
 Philippines Visa not required[147] 30 days
 Rwanda eVisa / Visa on arrival[153] 30 days
 Saint Kitts and Nevis Visa not required[154]
 Saint Lucia Visa on arrival[155] 6 weeks
 Saint Vincent and the Grenadines Visa not required[156] 1 month
 Samoa Visa not required[157] 60 days
 São Tomé and Príncipe eVisa[159]
 Senegal Visa on arrival[161] 90 days
 Seychelles Visitor’s Permit on arrival[163] 3 months
 Sierra Leone Visa on arrival[164]
 Singapore Visa not required[165] 30 days
 Solomon Islands Visa on arrival[168]
 Somalia Visa on arrival[169] 30 days ·         Available at Bosaso AirportGalcaio Airport and Mogadishu Airport.
 Sri Lanka eVisa / Visa on arrival[173]
 Suriname eVisa[175]
 Tajikistan eVisa[179][180] 45 days
 Tanzania Visa not required[181] 3 months
 Thailand Visa on arrival[182] 15 days
 Timor-Leste Visa on arrival[183] 30 days
 Togo Visa on arrival[184] 7 days
 Tonga Visa on arrival[185] 31 days
 Tuvalu Visa on arrival[190] 1 month
 Uganda eVisa / Visa on arrival[191] 3 months ·         May apply online.[192]
 United Kingdom and Crown dependencies Visa not required[196] 6 months
 Vanuatu Visa not required[200] 90 days
 Vietnam eVisa[203] 30 days
 Zambia eVisa / Visa on arrival[205] 90 days
 Zimbabwe eVisa / Visa on arrival[206] 3 months

Dependent, Disputed, or Restricted territoriesEdit

Unrecognized or partially recognized countries

Territory Conditions of access Notes
 Kosovo Visa not required[208] 90 days
 Northern Cyprus Visa not required[209]
 Palestine Visa not required[212] Arrival by sea to Gaza Strip not allowed.[213]
 Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic Undefined visa regime in the Western Sahara controlled territory.
 Somaliland Visa on arrival 30 days for 30 US dollars, payable on arrival.[214][215]
 South Ossetia Visa not required[216] Multiple entry visa to Russia and three day prior notification are required to enter South Ossetia.[217][218]
 Transnistria Visa not required[221] Registration required after 24h.[222][223]

Dependent and autonomous territories

Territory Conditions of access Notes
 Hong Kong Visa not required[224] 90 days
 Macau Visa on arrival[225]
 New Caledonia Visa not required[231]
New Zealand
 Cook Islands Visa not required[239] 31 days
 Niue Visa not required[240] 30 days
United Kingdom
 Anguilla Visa not required[243]
 Bermuda Visa not required[244]
 British Indian Ocean Territory Special permit required Special permit required.[245]
 British Virgin Islands Visa not required[246]
 Cayman Islands Visa not required[247]
 Gibraltar Visa not required[249]
 Montserrat Visa not required[250]
 Pitcairn Islands Visa not required 14 days visa free and landing fee 35 USD or tax of 5 USD if not going ashore.[251][252][253]
 Ascension Island eVisa[254][255] ·         3 months within any year period
 Saint Helena Visitor’s Pass required Visitor’s Pass granted on arrival valid for 4/10/21/60/90 days for 12/14/16/20/25 pound sterling.[256]
 Tristan da Cunha Permission required Permission to land required for 15/30 pounds sterling (yacht/ship passenger) for Tristan da Cunha Island or 20 pounds sterling for Gough IslandInaccessible Island or Nightingale Islands.[257]
 South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands Permit required Pre-arrival permit from the Commissioner required (72 hours/1 month for 110/160 pounds sterling).[258][259]
United States
 Guam Visa not required[262] 45 days
 Northern Mariana Islands Visa not required[263] 45 days