Papua New Guinea In Rugby World Challenger Series

 168 total views,  6 views today

A new world rugby sevens tournament to be called the World Rugby Sevens Challenger will be launched in February 2020 and Papua New Guinea has been listed as one of the participants in the inaugural series.


The main focus of the tournament is to boost rugby sevens’ development across the globe.  This has come about as a result of the exponential growth both on the field and from a fan engagement perspective.


The men’s series will feature 13 core teams from the six World Rugby regions who will compete over two rounds alongside three invitational teams.


The two legs of the inaugural World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series will be played in South America in Viña del Mar, Chile (15-16 February 2020) and Montevideo, Uruguay (22-23 February 2020).


The teams who will compete in the 2020 World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series are Brazil, Chile, Germany, Hong Kong, Italy, Jamaica, Japan, Papua New Guinea, Portugal, Tonga, Uganda, Uruguay and Zimbabwe. They will be joined by three invitational teams from the Americas in Colombia, Mexico and Paraguay.


The final playoff tournament will be hosted alongside the HSBC World Rugby Sevens Series event in Hong Kong on 3-5 April 2020.


To visit the World Rugby Sevens Challenger Series website click here (

Media Contact:

Original Article can be viewed here