The Governor General of Papua New Guinea, His Excellency Grand Chief Bob Dadae has announced the 2017 Queen’s Birthday Honours List.

The recipients are as follows:

Knight Bachelor


Sang Chung POH – commerce, community and charity
Nathaniel POYA – community and business

Order of the British Empire

Charles LEPANI – public service
Right Reverend Girege WENGE – Lutheran Church

Order of Saint Michael and Saint George

Betty PALASO – internal revenue commission
Jacob WEIS – commerce

Order of the British Empire


Derek Jepson – commerce and community
Josephine Kiak – education and women
Robert Moore – commerce and community
Hon. Don Sawong – judiciary


Pedro Celso – commerce
Emma Faiteli – public service
Daryl Holmes – health
Vele Kagena – agriculture and livestock
James Kendeyagl – local level government and land mediation
Michael Koisen – finance management
Paulius Korni – business and community
Malcolm Lewis – business and community
Ken Mulligan – community
Pus Nui – business and community
Scott O’Reilly – commerce and community
Max Rai – public service
Michael Wheeler – agriculture
Kenankege Wickramaratne – public service


Lepokon Andu – village court
Isaac Baikuru – rural healthcare
Colin Benton – agriculture
Regina Boma – general health and women
Michael Butler – rural aviation
Francis Dama – business and community
Ingwai Dire – local government and community
Rosemary Fabian – rural healthcare
Teddy Igu – education and community
Ruth Kange – provincial administration
Rev. Kila Kilarupa – United Church
Dibilngga Kulang – local government, land mediation
Piuk Lasela – Church and community
Annette Leva – education
Lus Lolan – community
Simon Mamot – local government
Apakure Mogia – education
Ludger Mond – provincial administration
Peter O’Donohoe – commerce and business training
Arai Pula – public service
Eric Sinbare – public service
Ezekiel Vene – sport and government house
Thomas Yoba – public service
Brett Young – business and community

British Empire Medal (BEM)

James Bai – local government and community
Snr Sergeant Dage Dumop – police force
Margaret Kaile – healthcare
John Kari – rural healthcare
Masa Kia – community
Sebastian Komba – community
Snr Sgt. Fiona Kovingre – Royal PNG Constabulary
Lina Kua – healthcare
Reverend Ravu Magani – United Church
Ellen Mana – rural healthcare
Phillip Meauri – youth development and church
James Mintik – community development
Gilford Nelson – government house
Serah Poiya – public service
Helen Rup – SOE
Dellis Sause – community
Stephen Show – public service
Thomas Taesa – public service
Amos Tami – catholic church
Samson Walizopa – community
Chief Sgt. Jack Wek – Royal PNG Constabulary
Snr Sgt. Maryanne Yabara – Royal PNG Constabulary

Queen’s Police Medial (QPM)

Chief Supt. Norman Kambou – Royal PNG Constabulary
Supt. Jim Namora – Royal PNG Constabulary
Chief Supt. Maria Euga – Royal PNG Constabulary

Military Division


87612 COL Joseph Ben – PNG Defence Force


810710 COL Silae Diro – PNG Defence Force


87777 CMDR Mozart Vanamos – PNG Defence Force


89862 CWO Joel Sorigi – PNG Defence Force
89437 CWO Dubbo Yonny – PNG Defence Force
89261 WO Joseph Ikime – PNG Defence Force
811839 WO Karukuru Laho – PNG Defence Force
810804 James Taule – PNG Defence Force